Anal fistula

What is an anal fistula?

Anal fistulas are commonly caused through inflammation of the anal glands, which result in the development of a tunnel between the anal canal and perianal skin.

Signs and symptoms of anal fistula

Signs and symptoms of an anal fistula often aren’t noticeable until there is an active inflammation of the area. Very often, the first sign of an anal fistula is an abscess with painful swelling, redness and tenderness near the anus. Another common symptom is discharge, which may include mucus, pus or fecal matter from the tunnel opening, and a foul odour.

Treatment

Anal fistula are most commonly treated through surgery. This may include:

  • Fistulotomy – where the whole length of the fistula is cut open, so that it heals as a flat scar. The size of the wound will depend on the extent of the anal fistula and can take a few weeks to heal completely. A fistulotomy is considered to be the most effective treatment for simple low fistulas that minimally impact the sphincter muscles, as they present the lowest risk of incontinence.1
  • Seton placement – recommended if the fistula passes through a significant portion of anal sphincter muscle. The process involves the surgical insertion of thread, known as seton, into the anal fistula to keep it open and promote drainage and healing. The seton is left in the fistula for several weeks to months and involves several procedures where a small part of the fistula is opened and the seton is readjusted into a new position. By avoiding cutting a large part of the sphincter muscles during a single procedure, continence is preserved.1
  • Fistula plug – recommended for high or complex (with multiple branches) anal fistula. A fistula plug involves blocking the internal opening of the fistula through the insertion of a collagen scaffold made from animal tissue into the fistula tract, facilitating the growth of tissue and leading to the closure of the fistula. Although studies suggest this technique provides a less invasive option compared to conventional surgery, the result is not consistent.1

References

For a full list of references, click here.
  1. NHS. (2019). Treatment – Anal fistula. Retrieved on 3 December 2019 from https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anal-fistula/treatment/

Our doctors

Our centre brings together a dedicated team of experienced surgeons, providing exceptional care to patients across Hong Kong.
Learn more

Making an appointment

Find out how to become an Icon patient, or request more information about your local centre.
Learn more

Care team

Every member of our team are here to help you. Here are some of the people you may meet and the role they have in your care.
Learn more
View all conditions

Search

肛門瘻管

甚麼是肛瘻?

肛瘻一般由於肛門腺發炎而引起,導致肛管與肛門周圍皮膚之間產生一條管道。

肛瘻的病徵和症狀

肛瘻的病徵和症狀往往不被察覺,直至該部位出現活動性發炎。很多時候,肛瘻的第一個病徵是膿腫,伴隨肛門周圍出現疼痛腫脹、發紅和觸痛。另一個常見的症狀是流液,可能包括從管道開口流出黏液、膿液或糞便,以及難聞的氣味。

治療

肛瘻大多數以外科手術作治療。這可能包括:

  • 瘻管切開術——切開整條瘻管,令其癒合為平伏的疤痕。傷口大小取決於肛瘻的範圍,可花數星期才完全癒合。瘻管切開術被認為是對簡單、低位而且對括約肌影響最小的瘻管最有效用的治療,原因是它們帶來的失禁風險最低。1
  • 放置泄液線——如果瘻管穿越大部份的肛門括約肌,則建議進行。過程涉及將線(稱為泄液線)以外科方式置入肛瘻,使其保持打開並促進排液及癒合。泄液線會留在瘻管數星期以至數個月,並且進行多個程序,將瘻管的一小部份切開,將泄液線調整到新的位置。透過避免在單一程序中切開一大部份的括約肌,控制大便能力得以保持。1
  • 瘻塞——建議對高位或複雜(有多個分支)的肛瘻使用。瘻塞涉及將動物組織製成的膠原支架置入瘻管,阻塞瘻管的內部開口,促進組織生長並導致瘻管封閉。雖然研究顯示此技術相對傳統的外科手術是侵入程度較低的選擇,但其效果並不一致。1

參考文獻

要獲取完整的參考文獻列表,請按此。
  1. 英國國民保健署 (NHS)。(2019). 治療 — 肛瘻。於 2019 年 12 月 3 日擷取自 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/anal-fistula/treatment/

我們的醫生

我們的中心團隊齊集了經驗豐富的外科醫生,為全港的患者提供優質護理。
了解更多

預約診症

了解如何在 ICON 求診,或索取更多關於本地中心的資訊。
了解更多

醫療團隊

每位團隊成員都很樂意為您提供協助。以下是一些可能您會見面的人士,以及他們在您的護理中所擔任的職責。
了解更多
查看所有病症

搜尋

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software