Colorectal resection (colectomy)


Overview

A colectomy is a major surgery that involves the removal of all or part of the colon/rectum to treat colorectal diseases. Depending on the type of colectomy received, the transected ends of the colon may be attached together or a new opening from the body (stoma) may be created, either temporarily or permanently, depending on the disease being treated and the health of the patient.

The two approaches for colorectal resection, performed under general anaesthesia, include:

  • Open colectomy – where a long incision is made through the skin and abdominal wall to remove the colon/rectum. This is generally undertaken if the patient has a bowel obstruction with a distended bowel, has had multiple previous abdominal surgeries which have led to intra-abdominal adhesions, or has poor heart and lung function which don’t allow for the abdominal cavity to be inflated with carbon dioxide gas.
  • Laparoscopic colectomy – a minimally invasive procedure that uses three small incisions to access the colon. Laparoscopic procedures result in less postoperative pain and complications, an earlier return of bowel function, shorter hospital stay and faster recovery compared to open colorectal resection.

Care team

Every member of our team are here to help you. Here are some of the people you may meet and the role they have in your care.
Learn more

Making an appointment

Find out how to become an Icon patient, or request more information about your local centre.
Learn more

Our doctors

Our centre brings together a dedicated team of experienced surgeons, providing exceptional care to patients across Hong Kong.
Learn more
View all procedures

Search

結直腸切除(大腸切除術)


概覽

結腸切除手術是一項大手術,涉及將全部或部份結腸/直腸切除,以治療結直腸疾病。視乎所接受的結腸切除手術的類型,結腸被橫切的兩端可能被連合起來;或者,在身體造出一個臨時或永久(視乎所治療的疾病和患者的健康而定)的新開口(造口)。

結直腸切除手術在全身麻醉下以兩個方法進行:

  • 開腹結腸切除術——切開一個長型切口,穿過皮膚和腹壁,以切除結腸/直腸。如果患者有大腸塞而腸臟膨脹、曾經接受多次腹部手術而引起腹腔內黏連,或心臟及肺部功能不良而腹腔不能注入二氧化碳氣體,則通常會進行此手術。
  • 腹腔鏡結腸切除手術——一種使用三個小切口進入結腸的微創程序。相對開放性結直腸切除手術,腹腔鏡程序所引致的術後疼痛和併發症較少、腸道功能恢復較早、留院時間較短而且康復較快。

醫療團隊

每位團隊成員都很樂意為您提供協助。以下是一些可能您會見面的人士,以及他們在您的護理中所擔任的職責。
了解更多

預約診症

了解如何在 ICON 求診,或索取更多關於本地中心的資訊。
了解更多

我們的醫生

我們的中心團隊齊集了經驗豐富的外科醫生,為全港的患者提供優質護理。
了解更多
查看所有程序

搜尋

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software